Author Topic: Missing your assault attack  (Read 1101 times)

darkInertia

  • Squire
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Missing your assault attack
« on: Jun 25, 2012 08:41PM »

This came up in one of my games, but I didn't feel like arguing about it.

If you charge in a target with e.g. three models (with assault),

1) you must resolve all assault attacks first.
2) assault just allows you to ignore the -4 penalty for firing into melee. If you miss on any of your assault attacks, you have to select a new valid target randomly (using the rules in the "firing into melee" section) and then make a second attack (also ignoring the -4 penalty b/c of assault).
  So, it is possible that you could miss one or more of your assault attacks, and end up killing your own models or other models involved in the melee.

Sources:

http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?78440-quot-Assault-quot-attacks-that-miss&highlight=assault+miss
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?97961-Steelhead-Cavalry-Assault-move&highlight=assault+miss
http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?68096-Assault-and-shooting-yourself&highlight=assault+miss
Logged

Lycane

  • MERCS Event Organizer
  • Man-At-Arms
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 288
  • Trolls FTW
    • View Profile
Re: Missing your assault attack
« Reply #1 on: Jun 26, 2012 10:38AM »

correct - hence why you should assault wisely or end up assaulting your own dudes...

and on a further note if you assault and dont end in melee but end withing range of your assault weapon you can still "shoot" then the charge fails.